Behind Closed Doors by B.A Paris (Book Review)

So everyone, last week i’ve bundled myself with books and one of it was Behind Closed Doors by B.A Paris. Here’s the cover of the book:

behind-closed-doors-cover

Isn’t it interesting? I think it’s interesting because the summary on the back of the cover was written like this:

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love.

Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and wine flowing. They appear to be in their element while entertaining. And Grace’s friends are eager to reciprocate with lunch the following week. Grace wants to go, but knows she never will. Her friends call—so why doesn’t Grace ever answer the phone? And how can she cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim?

And why are there bars on one of the bedroom windows?

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

I was intrigued by the summary and finally got a chance to read this book (thanks to all of my friends who gave me this as my birthday present!) Now, enough with the chit-chat. I’m going to review this book now.

The story started with a scene Grace and Jack were having their guests at their home. It wasn’t so appealing at first, I even closed my book after reading several pages (which makes me feel guilty though, because I end up liking this book). But after trying to read couple of pages, the story got exciting. This book wasn’t that kind of psychological thriller that you might expect much aside from “Gone Girl” or “The Girl on the Train”, although the idea might be start from those books. This book was very fast-paced even you cannot stand a night without reading it until the end. You maybe have read this book review from another websites, and many people said that this book was horror, terrifying and sort of like that. But, I think, it was no comparison to horror or terrifying stuff because if you enjoy gore/thriller genre, you might find this book is not disturbing at all. I, myself, is a fan of gore or thriller genre and I’ve read something more horrible than this book, book the plot wasn’t as exciting as this book. So it’s like every book has it pros and cons.

Pros of this book:

  • easy-understanding-language. I’m not a native English speaker, so finding this kind of book excites me because I don’t have to re-read some phrases that I don’t think I will understand by reading it once.
  • fast-paced. In thriller genre, I prefer fast-paced story rather than slow-paced. Slow-paced is boring.
  • unpredictable ending. Well, I sort of guessed that Grace would get help from … instead of … (sorry, I cannot spill the spoiler, you gotta read it by yourself ;))

Cons of this book:

  • cliche plot. The plot was very cliche. Very. But somehow the author succeed of making it interesting and made the readers didn’t want to close this book. Good job you did there, author.
  • unpredictable ending but still predictable ending. As you know, every psychological thriller story ending always ends up with the culprit is one of the ‘main’ character itself. Be ware.

I think, that’s all I can say about this book. Happy reading! and thank you for reading this review, appreciate a lot! 🙂

-cg

Leave a Reply

